In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field. [Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.]

The speaker asserts that without first being strongly influenced by past achievements, it is impossible to make a significant contribution. Even though some emerging new problems is unprecedented, past achievement has a helpful influence on the realm of science, and the politics. With some reason to explain my view point; I agree with the speaker.

To begin with, past achievements have a positive effect on scientific area. Indeed, technology development is established by traditional results. Without traditional results, science cannot make progress. Semiconductor manufacturing is a good illustration. When Moore’s Law was predicted in the end, many manufacturing companies gave up to reduce the dimension of the chips. However, some pioneer companies amazingly extended Moore’s Law, because they were benefited from Prof. Chenming Hu, the FinFET inventor. Due to Chenming Hu’s contribution to semiconductors, Moore’s Law can be extended to next 20 years. In a word, technology improvement is benefited from past fruitful results.

Second, past achievements exercise an influence in political area. The precursor’s achievement getting from similar problem is good guide to the successor. As carrying out a new policy, the successor should refer precursor’s achievements because the successor is incapable of know whether the new policy is effective or not. For example, When Joe Biden, the United States’ president, make a plan to solve economic crisis, he can refer Obama’s achievements because Obama successfully addressed the global financial crisis In Obama’s presidency, which offers a good guide to Joe Biden. In sum, the precursor’s achievement could be a good guide to successor.

However, constantly emerging new problems should be taken into account. Since crisis is unpredictable, people should be creative to tackle new emerging problems. If people ignore the new crisis, it will cause a catastrophe. For instance, COVID-19, has constantly killed the people in the world due to people’s remising. Such a brutal virus was unprecedent that people was incapable of dealing with it in the beginning. Fortunately, scientists successfully fabricate vaccination. As a results, the casualty is decline in the world. In brief, many new problems have no precedent, so people should be creative to deal with it.

To sum up, although people should tackle unprecedented problems, past achievement can be a good guide to successor. With past achievement, successor can be more efficiency. So, I agree with what the speaker says.