In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

The author of the statement claim that In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field. While some may argue that this statement holds all the time, others may counter that claim by providing examples in support of their claim. In my essay, I will highlight both sides of the argument, and also provide sound reasoning for my claim.

Past achievement in a field plays a vital role in one's life to make a significant contribution to the field. Most of the time the future of an individual is dependent on their past achievement. An individual can play for his country or represent his country at international level only if he has past achievement in that field, for example, Indian cricketer Virat Kohli made his debut in the international cricket team because he has very good past track record and helped him in doing significantly well in his field. And if you look at the Olympic games, our players are made to practice extremely hard before qualifying for the Olympics. This level of skill doesn't come without prior success on the field.

Another reason why past success might be a strong indicator of future success can be the fact that past success is mostly only obtained by a series of trials and errors. These experiences teach us the meaning of failure and also teach us what our strengths and weaknesses are. It is only when we are more self-aware that we can do our best in whatever we do.

However, above two reasons might have hold true for most of the time but we cannot assert that without past achievement one cannot be successful in that field, For example, Indian Cricket team Former Captain MS Dhoni who is the most successful captain of India's cricket history had no prior experience of captaincy, he had never captained his team at domestic cricket. Success in the field depends on various factors such as hard work, determination, and luck. If one is determined to do something and can do hard work then he can be successful in that field without having experience in that field.

In a nutshell, we can say that without past achievements in a field one can or cannot make a significant contribution to that field as a success is a combination of hard work, determination, and luck.