To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A city is considerable as representative of a country or a region. With its complexity due to dense population from various background, a city could describes the characteristic of its country or its region. It is tempting to believe that the characteristic of a society will be comprehensively understood when we conduct a deeper research on its major cities.

Furthermore, all great civilizations have had a flourishing cities. The government/king/queen have been living here. To understand most of its people, the way in which it is ruled, we must understand the city. In addition, cities have most of qualified universities and jobs which contribute to economic aspect and prosperity of society.

With these evidences, it is easy to believe that by studying the city, the characteristic of a society will be easily concluded. However, I argue that how the way society live its life is not as simply as knowing the life of its city. Moreover, in a developed countries, there is a huge inequality of many aspects. For example, Indonesia has a largest archipelago with its huge variation of tribes, cultures, beliefs, etc. The cities in Indonesia only represent few of Indonesian people. The most population have been agricultural, and many rituals can only be understood in the context of a rural backdrop.

So, while there are arguments that city is the best area for studying a society, it is clear that there is a wiser way to put rural background as main aspects in assessing a society, especially for developing or low-income countries.