A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

In the above argument, the author tried to co-related the stimulating situation of the human with the money without providing any evidence in support of his claim. The argument is flawed as in the argument he only mentions about the study that talks about the stimulating situation of money, he didn't provided any study about the human expect of one line that Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations.

In the argument, the author made his conclusion based on the study that was done only on eighteen monkeys. But his conclusion is not justified as he made his conclusion just because eighteen monkeys are exhibiting certain situations, the author concluded that stimulating situations, firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol. And he also didn't mention the type of environment the study was being done and the procedure of carrying out the study.

Moving ahead he says that Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations as monkeys do, but failed to provide any evidence in support of his claim like whether both the monkeys and the human possess similar hormonal reactions to the stimulus. The correlations might be logical to an extent, but they do not strengthen his argument.

Hence, we can say that the argument is flawed as the result could be varying in many different circumstances and the conclusion should be made on the extensive study not like in the argument where the author had made his conclusion on the limited study.