In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker contends that it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field. In several respects, it is true that reviewing the previous achievements helps us to make significant progress in any field of endeavor. However, only by emphasizing the importance of the past, the speaker ignores the roles of immediate environments and guiding needs of present and future in those innovative endeavors.

It is undeniable that the past may provide us with valuable advices and guiding information to make some contributive works. Because the past includes lots of wisdom, whether it is about success or about failure, ignoring the past would serve nothing for us, or make us start from nowhere. During the previous decade, for instance, Korean government has enacted several national construction programs. Unluckily, some of them omitted to refer the related past projects, in turn produce tons of mistakes and errors most of which could have been avoided if the planners had carefully examined the similar cases. It indicates that the past can be a good teacher for most contributive endeavors.

While the past can be a significant key for any field of endeavor, the lesson from the past alone does not account for the success of some innovative endeavors. Present social, political, and cultural conditions are also huge factors for successful efforts. With respect to the uniqueness of the contemporary society, it is not the reference to the past but the fresh and new observation to the singularity of the present that makes it possible for us to provide any meaningful contribution. The unprecedentedly intricate international financial crisis, for example, requires new paradigm of economic analysis rather than futile efforts to stick to the classics of economics. Although the great past works may give us some clues to solve the problem, they tend to be outdated and obsolete in our much complicated society.

Moreover, reviewing the past can be said to have little to do with the substantial contribution today in other meanings. With respect to the influence of the habitual ways of thinking and assumptions inherent in any field of inquiry, the meaningful contribution can be made better by being liberated from the past conventions and methodologies than by being influenced by them. It is well known that most academic disciplines could be continuously vigorous not because of the experts who dogmatically stick to the past achievements and have a vast size of knowledge about the past works but because of newcomers, beginners, or even outsiders who can put fresh ideas and perspectives into the given field. In modern sociology, for example, it is those new scholars who were trained from outside of traditional sociology who have provided new perspectives and expanded the boundary of sociology into the new areas such as ethnic dynamics, roles of gender, class theories in information economy etc. This also indicates that the true contribution is not the direct function of dogmatic adherence to the past achievements.

To sum, despite the benefit of minimization of trial and errors or sophistication given from the review of the past, both the uniqueness of the contemporary society and the fresh eyes of newcomers or outsiders tell us that the true contribution in any field of inquiry is not always a simple function of referring to the past. Taken together, I cannot fully agree to the speaker’s opinion.