In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Several scientific discoveries and famous contributions are achieved after years and years of study and devotion to a unique field. Many people, actually, argue that this influence along with the accumulation of specific knowledge is exactly what one needs to make futher significant achievements. However, what these people fail to consider is that things are interconected and because of this there is an enormous chance of contributing to an area even not being recognized as an expert on it. Recently, examples in the field of science and technology supports the claim that one can be make successful accomplishments in a area without having strong past influences on it.

Science is a good example of this. People that graduate in a given field may decided to do research in another one and then become great scholars. What is even more interesting is that research in a specific field can significantly contribute in another one. This is the ‘butterfly effect of science’. An example of this is a work that two Brazilian professors did for the Brazilian policy through the analysis of cocaine samples. These academics helped in the dentification of possible locations from which this drug was being distributed. Hence, although they never had any experience in this type of investigation whatsoever, these scholars, who usually conduct research in a completely differen field, were good ‘investigators’ for the Brazilian police.

Furthermore, technological applications are also an example about how creavity and knowledge has no borders. Also in Brazil, ‘startup’ firms are helping in the development of medical solutions for people with disabilities. The expertise of programmers and software developers made possible the creation of tablet and smartphone applications for people with voice problems. Because of the work of these engineers and computer scientists combined with the input of physicians and nurses, people that have access to these applications can communicate more effectively and be execute their daily tasks more easly. Hence, although the developers had no experience and no past achievements in the field of medicine, they were able to support professionals in other field to better treat their patients.

In conclusion, although aspects like experience, mastery in a given field and recognition by past achievements are usually inherent to significant contributions, they are not the only thing that matter. The examples discussed showed how expertise and dedication to a complete different area may be useful to promote solutions and accomplishing substantial achievements in other field. Therefore, the interconection of knowledge should be taken into more consideration. Perhaps, if people from diverse areas collaborate more we may benefit from more substantial contributions.