Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Sponsoring artists and disseminating their work in museums is something that has been done for a long time. Museums in Latin America, Europe and North America are examples of successful government funding allocated to the development and the popularization or arts. Furthermore, many artists receive financial support by either the government or wealthy patrons to work. While many people argue that such practice is welcomed, others believe that this type of help threatens the creativity and, therefore, the whole integrity of arts. Although opinions diverge, no one can argue that the financial support that artists receive allows them to be completely dedicated to art, contributing, therefore, to the creation of original and maginificent pieces.

As mentioned, artistic sponsors exist for a long time and although they may have a particular interest in the work of a specific artist, they play an important role in providing conditions so that the artist can be only concetrated in the development of his or her work. In an opposite scenario, the artist would have to pursue another way of living, consequently, jeopardizing the time that should be dedicated to the development of his or her art. Therefore, patronizing an artist is something of a unique importance, specially for a prfessional artist that struggle in selling his or her work.

Furthermore, the construction of Museums and art schools are another ways in which governments used to invest. For instance, the São Paulo Art Museum and the Oscar Niemeyer Museu were created through public funding and are considered some of the most important cultural attractions for tourism in Latin America. Also in Brazil, there are art schools there were created with the purpose of exerting a social role by taking children out of the streets and teaching arts to them. Because of social projects like this, Brazilian rates of criminality were reduced and also several young Brazilian artists are working on their performances all over the world.

In conclusion, the examples discussed show how important is for the development of arts to receive financial support. Although many people, including artists, claim that such a type of motivation put at risk the integrity of artistic creations, it is a fact that through funding many artists are able to survive by their work. Also, I believe that if more people give importance by to arts and, perhaps support financial aid to arts, more museum could be created and more people could be educated to become professional artists on the future.