In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

The issue states that it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within the field. While some people may feel that it is possible to make significant contribution to the field without studying or referring to past achievements but in my opinion it is impossible to do so. I believe there is at least a slight reference or study required to make any kind of contribution in any field.

One reason for my fundamental agreement with the author is that without learning or referring to the old work how could one make development inn that filed. For instance, Karl Benz invented the automobile car. Today each and every car is based on the basic principle of the first car by him. There is improvement in horsepower, comfort, shape, economy, etc. But the basic engine, transmission, wheels, etc remains the same. These contributions to the field are only done by studying the past achievement. Some people might argue that Karl Benz did not refer any past achievement but he also referred the past horse cart and replaced the horse with engine and transmission.

Secondly, we can also talk about the great contributions in the field of aviation. Today we have more big and long air travel times as compared to past. The first invention of the airplane was done by Wright Brothers and after neatly referring to these past achievements the further contributions were made in the field. Today we have great fighter planes, jets, etc . We have achieved this by being influenced by past achievements. An age-old adage goes as follows: One should learn his mistakes. We learn from the past mistakes by studying the past contributions and develop we technologies in the field.

However, there are also some cases where there was no study of past achievements and great contribution was made in field. But these things are very rare. For instance, the invention of X-Ray, X-Ray was accidentaly invented in an experiment which had different aim. There are some cases where some extra ordinary minds have made significant contribution without being influenced from the past. But there is some influence, study or learning which is indirectly related to the past achievements .

To recapitulate, from the examples presented above, it is, finally, lucid that it is almost impossible to make any significant contribution without referring to the achievements of the past. The presented examples of the automobile invention and its development and also of the aviation industry substantiate my position.