The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The author claims new dormitories would attract the prospective students and they would enroll at Buckingham. The author also states reasons to build new dormitories that the enrollment is growing and as per the current rate it will be double and the dormitories space would be inadequate for the students. He also states that the average rent prices have also increased and it would be difficult for students to stay off-campus. However, the author has made several dubious assumptions which are needed to address. This argument is logically flawed in several critical aspects.

To begin with, the author claim that attractive new dormitories will make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham is vague. I believe the factors which attract the students towards the college are researches going on in the college, quality of education, faculty, student-faculty ratio, tuition fess, etc. Attractive dorms is not a major factor. However, if the author would have mentioned explicitly how this factor will attract prospective students that the argument would have been more convincing.

Secondly, the author mentions that the enrollment is growing and it would be double in next 50 years. The 50 years time line is very long and anything could happen. It would happen that for 5 years there would be increase in students but due to some reasons after that the enrollment decreases very rapidly. This might happen if some great faculties leave the college or any reasons. And also there is not source mentioned or any specific data through which we could confirm the increase in enrollment.

Finally, the author states that the average rent prices of an apartment is the town is increasing and it would be difficult for the students to stay off-campus. The author has not mentioned and specific details and also there is average increase. There might be a case that a new shopping or new facility has been built and the increase in rent in that area but the area that students prefer to live which is near the campus has seen no increase in the rent. The increase in average rent does not clear the picture. However, the argument would be more convincing if explicitly stated the increase in rent of specific areas not the average.

Thus, due to the overstated assumptions the argument seems to be ill-founded. However, the argument would have been strengthened if the author would have mentioned specific details, numbers, source of the information provided, etc. With such confirming evidence the argument begins to cohere. Without it the argument is bereft of critical foundation and can't be deemed persuasive.