In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

The author contends, in order to provide a significant contribution to any of the endeavor, a person should have achieved something remarkable in that particular field. Only then can a person contribute significantly to its area, otherwise it is not possible. In my opinion, the author has placed a very strong view by using the word

impossible in his argument stem, to which I completely disagree. The premises for my stand is pervasive all over the essay, where an elaborate picture has been presented.

There are various flaws in the argument presented. Firstly, the author says that the past achievements should be within the field where a person is looking to excel. To prove this wrong, let us take the example of the great leader and former President of India, Dr. A.P.J Abul Kalam. This great man was a scientist

who gave India its Nuclear weapon and he had absolutely no background of politics. He had an achievement but not in the same field but the contribution provided by him towards the country in uplifting India by bringing social reforms are numerous which has created respect for the great man and that respect is prevalent in every Indian citizen's heart irrespective of their religion.

Secondly, achievement could be monitory achievements or in terms of recognition, even though people who make a significant contribution are motivated by achievements but having a past achievement to provide a field something notable is not always true. Moreover, saying that it is impossible to do it without prior achievements will be

unrealistic. Illustrating this with an example of my Mathematics teacher who had come from a poor background and had no money to even finish his degree for teaching, and as he could not teach in any schools, he used to take private classes and higher secondary students from good schools used to go to him after school to learn Mathematics as he had the intelligence and tact which did not need any degree to certify. His passion and dedication for teaching did the miracle. The financial constrain and other such restrictions can be the leading factors due to which a person has not achieved something in past, but as evident it is not impossible to provide a significant contribution.

Moreover, these achievement from past can sometimes play a reverse role, instead of extending a significant contribution there are some examples where people have used the knowledge and power to harm the field they have been working in. Azzharudin, a well known Indian cricketer after gaining the fame is accused of accepting bribe for various cricket matches and was banned from playing or even prisoned for this heinous act.

Hence to conclude, it is true that any past achievements in the field a person is working for, can have an influence in the contribution it provides but saying that it is impossible to do without that will be completely wrong. There are myriad of attributes that need to be accounted if we are looking for factors that can bring considerable contribution such as individual motivation, work environment, hunger to learn more and provide best, dedication, skills and many more.