Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.
Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership
The author contends those in power should step down after five years so that others can get an opportunity to take the control in their hands.
In turn this will energize and revive any type of enterprise with the new leadership. In my opinion, every industry should get the exposure to
different idea and approaches but to experience that, one in power should abdicate the position after five years would be wrong. My claim is backed
on myriad premises which are pervasive throughout this essay.
Firstly, anyone who is outstanding is their fields and his company or enterprise is prospering because of his decision making, it will be foolish
of that person to leave his place just because his tenure of five years is over due to many reasons. The company might be at its summit and the person
decides to leave can cause fatal results, the next leader will take some time to get accustomed and meanwhile revenues can go down in terms of business, people
can loose their jobs due to some wrong decisions as the leader is still fledgling. In the field of studies as well if a great professor decides to leave after five
years thinking that the youth should get a chance, there is a possibility that the new person can be good but what if he is not. The students already had a great professor
which they lost . To illustrate my point let us take the example of a multi billion dollar company apple. If Steve Jobs would have thought that my five years are over, and now I will
step down so that a newbie can do my job, the market story of Apple would be different. We know it for sure because we know the ability and the talent Steve Jobs had, hence
it would never be a good idea.
Moreover, I agree with the benefits of rotation of leadership which brings novelty of thoughts, approach and innovations but this rotation should not be
dependent on a time frame. So what I do not agree in the claim presented is the time stamp that has been put for the leader to give up . Morally a person should
resign from his post when he thinks that he is unable to do justice to his work. A perfect example to understand this will be of an Indian cricketer Mahindra Singh Dhoni
who played an awesome series of matches and the India was in its pinnacle under his captaincy but at the age of thirty four he himself felt that its time for the team to have
a new captain and took retirement from cricket with dignity.
However, I also understand, not every human being is honest and somewhere the power and wealth overpowers our conscience, in that case it becomes necessary to put a tenure,
for instance president of most of the democratic country changes after five years, which allows people to choose weather it wants to continue with the same government or needs a change
which is definitely the most viable approach. This approach should be implemented in most of the fields to free people from the misery if there is a bad governance and also
give an option to reelect their leader if he is really worth.