"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above argument the homeowner compares two leading real estate firms of the town and claims that Adams Reality is better than Fitch Reality. This homeowner has based his assertion on some assumptions and experience, both of which can be challenged and falsified. e calls Adams Reality superior and recommends his friend this real estate firm over other, however this contention requires in depth analysis before coming to this conclusion. The assumptions on which the homeowner's claim is based is specified and how they are incomplete and incoherent has also been elucidated.

Firstly, the homeowner has used the quantity of the people as the basis to state that Adams is better than Fitch which is irrelevant with the superiority, however what is relevant is the quality of these working people. Now as the owner has evinced the numbers, let us examine more. There are 40 members working and Finch has 25 still there is a difference of $24000 revenue difference between the two. Moreover the fact presented by the homeowner that Adam revenue is twice as Fitch is wrong as 168000 using no math can be equivalent to twice of 144,000 . This proves that the efficiency of Adam's in no case is better than Fitch. Also, if we consider another fact presented to bolster his argument that most of employees in Fitch work only part time has in reality weakened his argument. Clearly, considering less number of hours and less number of employees, worker efficiency is pretty high in Fitch.

Secondly, owner has also shared his experience where the house sold with Fitch took four months to sell with Fitch ten years ago while it took only a month with Adams. Here, the data comparison made does not have a standard time, one data is taken 10 years back where the reason for delayed process could be some financial crisis in the market or less demand for resale houses. There could be some issues with the previous house due to which the sale took time. Also, Fitch could be just an inexperienced firm that time, but we are talking about current time. If the owner could have the data where he sold a house with Fitch recently as he did with Adams, then this premise would be valid.

Lastly, the owner also claims that for good price Adams reality should be used, but this claim has not been backed up with any supporting evidence, and there are many factors which add up to getting a good price, the market situation, the condition of the house, the demand of that area and others.

Hence, to conclude the house owner should have done a thorough investigation before making a claim and passing the recommendation to his friend as the premises used by him are faulty and subjected to errors.