School should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation
and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, be sure
to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position
The author contends that schools should emphasize more on preparing a student better on the non academic aspects of adulthood.
I totally agree with the claim asserted by the author and would like to rest my stand on numerous grounds that have been discussed below.
Good academics is definitely a safety net for an individual to buy bread and butter for himself and his family, but is a human life all about survival?
Even animals do that without any schooling, so what makes us different than them is a very important aspect schools should stress upon and provide required guidance to the
students.
First and foremost, a very important difference one needs to understand is the difference between Literacy and Education. The schools should give emphasis
on educating the students about morals and principles which are an important aspect to a human life. To explicate this point let us take an example of
a Harward Graduate who is very successful academically but harasses his female peers sexually, what is the meaning of his degree when the basic sense of
respect is missing.
Secondly, when we talk about preparing students for non academic aspects, apart from building a good character in the students, certain self defense
training should also be considered. These skills can be life saving for a person in certain situation and "two plus two equals four" cannot do anything in this scenario.
Schools should initiate awareness programs about self defense strategies for the benefit of the child. After all what is more precious than life itself!
Thirdly, the biggest problem current generation is facing these days is depression, anxiety, mental stress due to various reasons like family pressure, heartbreaks
and others.In schools, apart from providing councilors students can be taught to meditate where one develops the practice of contemplation and can handle the stress in a better way.
Additionally, other artistic skills like singing, dancing, sports, and other extra curricular activities boosts up the confidence level of a person and helps in the overall development.
All the points mentioned above strongly allude that preparing a student for other basic yet important aspects of life like building a good character, having the right
attitude towards various hardships one faces as a part of growing up in life is extremely essential and thus should not be neglected by any schools or institutes imparting
education as a whole.