Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.
In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.
The author here asserts that scandals are useful because they grab our attention to the issues in much better way if compared
to any speaker or any social reformer trying to bring that to the notice of the general public.I disagree with the author's opinion
as it can proven wrong on several grounds.Few reasons for my disagreement have been listed below.
Scandals may seem to grab attention of the masses as there is a spice in the story added by the media for the publicity of their channels.
Even the newspaper editors make sure that they are adding enough spice to catch the attention of the readers for good revenues and other personal incentives.
Doing so, unnecessary and malicious content is also incorporated to make it look more appealing.But nowadays, public is aware of these stunts performed by these
people and hence, reserve their doubts on these issues.
To say that scandals convey the issues better than any speaker or reformer would be somewhere wrong because there are some leaders with whom the public associates a lot of
credulity and they have good oratory skills to voice the problems. To illustrate this, I would take the example of Mr. Narendra Modi who is the
Prime Minister of India. The way he brings captivates people's attention, puts forth the past, current, future issues in front of them is mesmerizing.
Not just him, let's talk about reformer Mother Terresa, who with her actions not only got people's attention to the problems like poverty, illiteracy and many more
but also mitigated them.
Also, not all types of scandals are useful like sex scandals of various celebrities.In the current world models who are not getting jobs are adopting
these means to get money while providing content to the news reporters which is unneccessary and alarming for the society. Definitely not all news is fake
but these things cast a doubt on the authenticity of these scandals .
Hence,to conclude scandals are useful to grab the attention of the crowd but to state that no speaker or reformer could ever do it the same way or in a better way
would be wrong. The scandals come from untrustworthy sources as well driven by self motives and if the powerful and trustworthy speakers or reformers would bring these issues
in light they will get the desired attention in the same way or even better.