The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in the argument stem contends that a fewer audience as turned up this year who attended the Super Screen produced movies than in any other year, he also claims that its not the problem with the quality of the movies but the issue is that these movies are not reaching the perspective viewers. Hence by allocating a greater share towards the marketing or advertising their movies, the advertising director claims to reach a wider group of the audience. The assertion made by the author is based on premises which are incomplete and can be falsified on several grounds.

Firstly, the authors claim that the number of viewers are less this year could be because the count of the movies this year produced by Super screen productions is lesser than the number produced previously. This clearly indicates that if that data is not taken into account , increasing the budget on promotion will not make sense as the comparison done here is not taking into account the most important factor. It is possible that this year two movies were released which attracted ten thousand people, and last year eight movies attracted twelve tousand viewers. In such case promotion is not an issue and thus the author's claim is weakened.

In addition to this the percentage of positive viewers has increased which shows that the quality of movies was good but if the number od movies produced are less, how can it be compared with the previous years.

Secondly, it may not be a question of quality movies but the genre of movies that the production house is producing. There are myriad of examples in the film industry where even after promotions audience does not like the movie and it is a flop at the box office. Let us recall any oscar winning movies like "The Shape of water" which even after promotions and good content could not attract enough audience, because the taste of general public does not lie in such categories. Many people want to watch movies so that it can entertain them and get them out of the real life troubles, even if it is for sometime and watching dark and realistic movies may not appeal them as much.

Hence, the author's claim is not cogent as it fails to take into account several possibilities and is not supported by relevent and sufficient data which leads to several loop holes in his argument and several ways to attack and lay his argument indefensible.