Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Lush green forests, natural reserves, lively rivers and balance of various zoological species is one of the major concern of our present day world. Programmes for the conservation of wildlife species have been taken up by many organizations for a sustainable future. With the growing population and the emerging needs of people, the wilderness is being recklessly destroyed and our ecosystem left disturbed. The author contends that a law should be reinforced to preserve any kind of the small patches of wilderness areas, which definitely is the need of an hour, even though these areas are suitable for development and ultimately provide economic gains. There are various premises on which my opinion is based and are pervasive in the entire passage.

Starting with the basic need of any life to exist on this planet which is in the form of oxygen gas, which every human is well aware is not synthesised in our body, rather our lungs are hanging on those tress which we are slaughtering down without giving it a second thought. Any human, is out in the race to satisfy their greed. Papers, furnitures, fuel, luxury items are some of the items which we put this wood for use and completely ignore the basic fact, while doing so we are impairing our own self. This has significantly provided a breeding ground for other other environmental issue to mushroom.

Moving on the animal kingdom, where human is using every creatures life for their own benefits, snakes, crocodiles,ostrich their leather is being used to make branded bags, shoes, home decorations. Manufacturing these items have become so fanciful that once again we ignore the balance of nature and disrupt it in every possible way. Since so many years when hunting was legal and was considered as a skill and leisure activity, we were at the verge of losing lions, elephants and so many more species which have become endangered now. It was only after the hunting was banned and various programmes initiated by the government that forests could revive back and the count of these species is improving, though not stable yet.

Moreover, what we call as economic gains like building industries, residential colonies, roads, dams and others, we are creating havoc with the nature by changing the course of rivers, trying to control its flow by building dams, polluting them with the wastes. If these "so called" development projects keep rising at the cost of injuring our ecosystem, the day is not far when we all will fall a prey to the natural calamities and everything will be devastated. Hence to conclude, any laws or restriction implemented on saving our wilderness areas will be beneficial, in fact every country should not just preserve these homes of wild but also create more by planting trees. Government should keep aside notable funds to increase awareness about our changing ecology and to implement effective measures.