"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author contends, in order to reduce the number of moped accidents in Balmar island the town council should put a constraint on the number of mopeds rented, from 50 to 25 per day. The author has also bolstered his claim with the supporting data from a neighboring island of Seaville where similar limit on moped rentals helped them achieve the reduction in the moped accidents last year. However, the premise on which this assertion is made is incomplete and insufficient and requires further plumbing to arrive to this conclusion. There are various aspects one needs to consider before the implementation of a policy just because it is successful to curb the issue under different conditions doesn't not imply it will be successful everywhere.

First and foremost the town council should take a look at the population size of the neighboring town where this policy was successful. It is possible that Seaville's population is very less in comparison to Balmer island because, its given in the data that the population in Balmar increases to 100,000 during summer but the population for Seaville is not mentioned. If the population is huge for that island then restricting the number of mopeds may cause additional problems. People will find some other viable option to commute, possible rental cars, which may cause a concern for city traffic police and also cause chaos on the roads which ultimately increase the chances of accidents involving pedestrians and four wheeler this time. To elucidate this, let us take the case of Poland where population is very less and government is able to provide free medical to all at the cost of a low insurance amount paid by everyone every year but this policy can not be implemented in India having a large population base as it suffers from poverty, illiteracy and other challenges which restricts it.

Secondly, if it is a tourist destination, the revenue generated by the tourism can fall significantly if the area of the island is huge and moped services are cut down. The city council should take a look at this side of the picture too before putting a restriction on the moped companies. This restriction can greatly have an impact on the locals whose only source of income could be renting out their mopeds.

Considering the inconvenience caused to the tourists, impact on the revenue of the island and the locals the government should invest some time and efforts looking at the broader picture before implementing this policy. They can come up with an alternative to this proposal which does not have the limitations like this one. Hence, the council should take a decision only after the thorough investigation.