Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Laws are the rules and regulations imposed on a group of people by the administration in order to maintain a hustle free and streamlined society. Undoubtably enforcing law and order helps the society by ensuring no injustice will be tolerated. Any wrongdoing will have severe implications and thus creates a fear in an individual and acts as a deterrent for many crimes. But are all problems solved by the legal system? It is definitely one of the major forces which keeps individually working bodies under check but it has its own limitations which are elucidated below.

Starting with the fact that ultimately laws are enforced on an individual, which means tat sometimes the strict actions cause fear in the person but does not change his predilection towards the negative acts. For instance, taking the raping case of Delhi into consideration, "Nirbhaya" wh is one of the girls out of many raped in India, there was a lot of protest which happened , media played a very important role, her culprits were sent to the prison and given harsh punishments as per the law and order, but that didn't change anything, still several cases of rapes are a common story each day highlighted in newspapers, televisions, social sites and many more. The reason being the root cause of the issue needs to be analysed and eradicated than enforcing "cure" method. Here lack of moral education is the fundamental problem which needs to be imparted, starting from home. Instead of teaching daughters how to dress or what time she should come home, education should be given to the sons of the family and teach them respect .

Another such major issue wich can not be treated by Laws is the debauchery or Corruption. This issue is prevailing across the globe and is a source of many other problems like vast difference among rich and poor, lack of education, Government policies not executed correctly. Again, such issues have serious punishments but are so widespread and common that law is unable to bring the level down. In this case, law makers are themselves law breakers,a crime as big as accepting bribe and releasing a culprit from prison or as petty as the debauchery of high level officers who take away the grains, pulses which were intended to be given to the soldiers and sell them in the open market to earn money. These issues are not likely to be changed as law cannot change the minds and hearts of the people.

Hence to conclude, there is a lot that laws can succeed in, but its not a "cure all" .