Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.
Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.
The author contends that the big cities of the nation must get the desired capital and the the financial support by the government
and the political party must ensure this. Author has also given a reason on which his claim is based which states that its majorly in cities that the nation's
cultural heritage is preserved and generated. I completely agree with the assertion as I strongly believe if cities bloom well with the support of the government,
it brings various advantages to its country. My opinion has been explicated in detail below.
Firstly, finance is something which is a prerequisite for the growth of almost everything. Talk about an individuals, sources of entertainment, any new products,
villages, cities and more. But various reasons can be listed on why the government should invest in cities and make sure capital aids are dispensed for the cities
to flourish. Starting with the primary reason that cities are the representatives of a country. Any foreign dignitaries land in the big city of the country which
is connected to rest of the world. Now imagine a situation where the airport of a country is shabby and lacks the basic amenities like clean toilet.
The first image created by those elites and the memory that they carry with them is not going to be a good one. There will be some damage caused to the
reputation of the country.Hence, government should take care and spend judiciously on the civic amenities and other areas of development in the big cities.
Secondly, elaborating the author's view that nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated in these cities existing from ages. Illustrating this with an example of
my own country India, New Delhi is the heart of the nation and has been the capital of the country since mughal were ruling which is hundreds of decades ago. As these
city is old, it has myriad of forts, palaces, gardens preserved in the form of museums or highly maintained modern day tourist restaurants. Agra,another major cities
has one of the seven wonders of the world that is "Taj Mehal". Maintenance of these beautiful monuments is only possible when the government takes care of these by
investing finances for their cleaning, repairs etc.
Another benefit that a country will receive on investing in cities is the revenue generated by these cities. Once a city looks appealing, it attracts a lot of tourists
to the country which would help the restaurants, the museums, the hotels, the small vendors who sell handmade artifacts and even the local transports. Moreover
the gifts that cultural exchanges bring in terms of personal and national growth are numerous.
Therefore, needless to say the government must spend on the cities of their nation of a better growth of the country, monetarily and personality. Apart from that, new
areas of employment open abundant of opportunities once outsiders are willing to establish a business in the cities with good facilities.