The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author contends in order to reduce absenteeism at work places and schools, the Public Health council has come up with a promising way to overcome this. The method that is suggested by the council is the one adopted by the nearby city which they assume is the solution to mitigate their problem. This assertion is based on fallacious data without any perspective insight. The premises that this argument is based on is incomplete and spurious. There are myriads of faults in this piece of information where this argument can be weakened and unlikely to present the expected outcome. The reasons for my stand are explicated and elucidated throughout the passage.

Firstly, the treatment that is being called as innovative to mitigate the existing issue of West Meria requires legit source of information which could be any doctors recommendation or someone from medical who can delineate the link between eating fish and cold. Health council is a community of members who are just concerned about people and figuring out ways for the well being of the society. Any medical data which reflects the connection between the problem and the solution could strengthen the author's point. However,its absence merely weakens his argument.

Secondly, Objection can be made on the second statement as well. People visiting doctors once or twice a year does not indicate that they suffer with cold only these two times. Its a common symptom which generally people take care themselves without involving the doctor. This is not a valid point to infer that people suffer from cold with reduced frequency just because they visit the doctor only twice. There is a plausible possibility that these times when they visit the doctor are the cases of severe cold which is a symptom of some dreadful disease. Hence, arriving at a conclusion on the grounds of this data is inane.

Thirdly, to conclude that the attendance will increase with the consumption of fish as it is the most common excuse depicts that the author is too naive. If the main intention is to evade the work or school, people can find thousands of more excuses. Overcoming cold does not guarantee the improved attendance. Therefore, any recommendation of fish oil is not persuasive enough to either prevent cold or decrease absenteeism.

Thus, the summary of the writing is that the conclusions made by the author do not have rigid and a firm ground, which easily make it vulnerable to attack. This could be prevented, if valid data and medical reports were quoted and the true reason for absenteeism was determined. Placing argument on incomplete data is always indefensible.