In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business
matters.
The author contends that the government's role should be minimized so that the small businesses can bloom.
This is a contention which I personally agree with for following reasons.
Firstly, the government's intervention in small scale business can lead to less competition which in turn will result in negligible
improvement in the quality of the product.Government's policy to keep a control on prices in order to support the economically weaker
sections of the society may not be a good idea as the standard prices and the limit on the costs will also limit any sort of invention in these fields.
For instance, consider a small, newly established watch making industry where the government has established some cost restrictions on the selling prices,
the owner of the company will be reluctant to come out with and experiment with a new design as there is a limitation on the selling price and thus cannot
set up a proper margin for himself.
The competition will automatically reduce the price of commodities in general hence government does not need to worry about the check on the prices.
Secondly, involvement of government will add complexity and curtail the growth of any form of small businesses. Major companies or large businesses
have a dedicated team and resources allocated to deal with the Government policies and their regulations. On the other hand small businesses need many
suitable conditions to thrive like capital, location, physical infrastructure therefore intervention of government is just going to burden the little donkey
with additional weights. Illustration of this can be done with an example of US government which is the leading producers of entrepreneurs in the world
because of their relaxed policies and anyone can get a licence in about 35$, even hiring one or two employees is not very cumbersome.
Thirdly, Assigning any government officials to the working team delays the completion of any type of work in general. A lot of paperwork
and seeking approvals in itself is a time consuming and laborious job which ultimately demotivates the employees as well as the employer.
Moreover, these time consuming processes can actually reduce the amount of time that should have been dedicated to the real business.
Fourthly, being born as humans we have tendencies to skip or avoid anything that we feel is unimportant and inefficient.Thus as a response to all the bureaucratic
convolutions, an alternative route can be taken by the individuals or the group of small businesses which can trigger bribery and corruption.
At least, in our country government officials are often accused of taking bribes and getting the work done which breeds social issues.
However, what I alluded to in the previous paragraphs should not be generalized to all the sectors of the business, there are certain fields like medicine, food, baby care
and others which are very critical from safety and health point of view and should not taken casually.
According to me the government should be a reference to judge here so that at the cost of providing breeding grounds to small businesses, the
standards are not being compromised, and health of the public is not at risk.
Hence, in order to conclude the government should minimize their involvement in order to let the small businesses prosper, but at the same time the areas that are
crucial and have a severe impact on the lives of the people must have some involvement of Government. Additionally in order to protect human rights so that people
do not face discrimination and other society related issues some intervention would be helpful.