The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Central Plaza owner claims that their business has gone down over the past two years and he blames the skateboarding community for his loss. The increased popularity of the skateboarding is said to be the reason that the sales in Central Plaza have gone down. In my opinion this contention can be challenged in several ways as this piece of information is incomplete to make this claim.

Firstly, the owner's sales have been declining from past two years , in order to analyse the co relation with the increased popularity of skating, he should have given information on when was this sport introduced in the plaza. It could be possible that this sport has started recently, then in that case further evaluation of the base for reduced revenue would be required.

Secondly,the crowd that is attracted by the skateboarding could be those people who are not the same people who used to shop in the plaza. The people attracted could be the ones who are sports lovers and thus has attracted a different group of people , people who would otherwise sit at home and watch sports on television. In that case as well there is no impact seen on the reduced sales of the plaza. Thus, the owner should verify if its his customers , that earlier used to buy things from his store are finding skateboard more interesting and spending their time there instead.

Thirdly,instead of casting aspersions on other group, the store owner should check if the service provided by his own staff is up to mark. If the staff is behaving improperly with the customers, that could be one of the resons for the uninterested customers. Moreover, the owner should also check the commodities kept in his store are abreast with the latest fashion and the stores have exclusive ranges to select from. If the stuff in the shops are insipid and the customer has no options to choose from, they will definitely be disappointed. Cost is another major factor, store keepers should check if their selling items are kept at reasonable prices . Seasonal discounts and festive discounts are also attractive schemes which should be used as promotion tactics. These all things should be looked upon first, before blaming the other group who is doing well. The owner also blames the people who come for skateboard as the reason for increase litter in the plaza which I believe is out of sheer jealousy as there is no evidence to make that remark.

Fourthly, online shopping is the current trend followed by people . These days people buy most of the household items, fashion accessories, grocery etc with one button click and the items are delivered to their home.The convenience offered by online market could be taken as a prominent factor for declining sales.

Hence, to conclude the Plaza owner should look into the problems associated with his store first, as it is unable to attract the customers now . Also, other external factor like online boom can be seen as a blockage for a good revenue that the plaza used to generate two years ago. As, there are so many ways the owner's argument challenged, I reject his claim and consider it as week and unconvincing.