"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author, in the argument given contends that the best way to improve Hopewell's economy is to devise the method used by the nearby town due to the positive benefits this town was able to reap after implementing it. However, this assertion is based on insufficient information and hence is weak and not persuasive. The premises for my stand are pervasive throughout the passage.

Firstly, the location f this town "Ocean View" must be considered and analyzed thoroughly because there is a possiblity thet this area had a potential for tourism and that may not be the case with Hopewell, building a hotel and investing the money on constructing golf course can prove to be a loss if its is not well suited for tourism or the financial status of the locals is weak. These are the primary factors to be taken into consideration.

Secondly, the author has presented a fact that since two years te tourism has increased but more insightful investigation needs to be done on this point, whether this increase in tourism is solely due to these two new constructions or there are any other reasons for new businesses to be opened. It could be that the laws for entrepreneurship in this area have been given flexibility which in turn has resulted in this improvement. Moreover, the author is talking about the increase in tax revenues of the city which implies that the city is receiving more taxes which could be again due to several reasons like the revision in tax rates that the municipality has implemented. Moreover, it has been only two years time frame that new business is set up, a long term sustainability needs to be checked before suggesting this policy to others.

Thirdly, the most important observation is that even if we consider the resort hotel and muncipal golf course as the reasons for all of these positive developments in Ocean view, still the authority needs to dwell into the criterias like how far Ocean view is from Hopewell, what is the population of these towns because if the distance and the population is limited and Ocean view is better ground for tourism, then this plan is a major flop. Another perspective to look at will be , that another golf course and resort can bring in unwanted competition to both the towns, possibly bringing the revenue of Ocean view down as well. We have seen it in the other markets like electronics, mobile network providers and others, the business becomes tough when the competetion rises. Instead of devising the same mothod, hopewell should look fr other innovative alternative to flourish.

Therefore, to conclude my view, the author's argument is weak and easily challenged because its premises are not firm and cogent. Any insightful investigation of the issue is lacking which makes the argument easily attackable.