People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author contends that behavior of a person is generally determined by external forces rather than a product of their own actions. To elucidate this point let us take the illustration of a man who is furious at a shop keeper, the reason being that the goods that the vendor packed were not the ones ordered by that person. Therefore, it is not the fault of the person as he gave the correct order, instead it is the vendor's mistake who delivered the goods wrong. Thus the anger that has made the poor guy's face red is not due to his own making but the reaction to the other person's wrong doing.

However, let us flip this coin to visualize the other side. In the same example given, if this person understood that being humans we are bound to make some errors, and getting ferocious at this act of the vendon is just going to have a bad impact on his own body, he is going to be irritated all day by spoiling his own mood and also the vendor's mood. He could sensible control his reaction and instead of reacting, he could have responded. This suttle nuance in te effect of these two words make all the difference. As the action was done and getting angy is futile now, so why not think and respond back to the vendor in a calm way and explain the consequences of this act for his business which he will surely assimilate. Display of wrath and shouting is an inane way o deal with a problem.

In order to incorporate more details to my opinion, we also have a famous short story which talks about the dinner at a friend's house. When all the friends including the hosts are around the table ,a cockroach comes and sits on the table. Sighting this, the lady starts to scream and leaves the chair in hasty manner which makes a mess on the table, all the drinks spilled out, deserts and eateries out of the bowls and the plates and crockery into pieced lying on the floor. Looking at her panicked reaction everyone starts to panic and leave their chairs. A waiter who was standing and saw all the chaos happening ,inverted an empty bowl over the cockroach and took it out calmly. The point here is that the situation for everyone was the same but response was not.

Hence to conclude, the forces acting around us do put us in a situation where our true behavor to deal with the situation becomes evident. But it will be wrong to say that our behavior is determined by the external environment. If external forces were the determining factors then subjecting different people to the same situation should give out the same behavior. The fact that everyon's way of dealing same situations differently is the product of the internal forces.