"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and

explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given argument the author contends that the order of the birth has a vital effect on the stimulation of hormone cartisol which has been supported by illustrating evidences of both human behavior and the characteristics shown in monkeys and their infants. In my opinion the behavior displayed by these species has more to do with psychological effect rather than birth order. My basis of my view has been explicated below.

Author stated that as per the study firstborn infants produce twice as much of the hormone coristol that other siblings when it encounters unfamiliar monkey. Author has assumed that the reason for this sort of behavior is biological and thus associated with the order of birth but it could possibly be that the mother monkey gets more ferocious and aggressive with other unfamiliar crew of its species while bringing up her first infant.

Like any other species monkeys are also new to dealing with predators and other type of threats for its baby, so they remain wary, hence, even the baby looks at unfamiliar monkeys as a threat in a way more exagerated form than it actually is. However, the first experience trains the monkey mother and wile upbringing the consequent infants she behaves in a milder way. In turn the other infants grow more casual in their attitude with comparatively less level of cortisol stimulated.

Similarly, in case of humans as well, most of the parents pamper their first born more and are more expressive in showing their affection. Also, they try to keep their baby close and provide their undivided attention to them which makes it difficult for the baby to deal with the absence and in return when they see their parents after a long time the level of cortison is stimulated highly. Talking about the next babies, the obviously due to increased responsibilities the other kids do not get the same level of pampering or physical closeness with their parents. As these kids are used to the distance, it could possibly explain the reason for comparatively low level of the mentioned hormone.

Lastly, I could explain the higher levels of cortisol in mother monkeys during pregnancy also a function of brain than biological. Our body always releases high level of adrenaline or any other hormone the first time we do something new as there is excitement, anxiety, nervousness and other feelings that are a part of this new experience.As, being a mother for the first time can also stimulate the brain in similar way could be the plausible reason for this discovery.

To conclude my opinion, I agree that the first born have high levels of this hormone as evinced by the studies too, but to state that it is due to the birth order will be wrong. Author should have given compelling reasons to associate this birth order to something concrete. As that information is lacking the authors argument is week and not persuasive enough.