A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The author concludes in his argument that an employee receiving paid leave is 28 percent less likely to encounter a work- related accident in comparison to an employee who does not get paid sick leave. Author also asserts that workers with unpaid leaves feel pressured to come to work even in the state of illness. In my opinion, unpaid leaves could be one of the reasons for the Employees to push for work during their illness but considering it as the whole and sole reason to arrive to this conclusion can be challenged and falsified in several ways.

To begin with, in the author's first sentence the figure of 28 percent is questionable as the author has not given any evidence of what was number of sample data that was taken. What if the number of people who were surveyed were as low as 5, is that figure still acceptable? No, right. If the author would have provided additional information like the huge size of sample data that was taken into consideration, then that would support his argument.

Secondly, another important parameters about which author has provided no information is the nature of the job author is talking about, has he taken all fields of work into consideration, as complexity and criticality of job does play a vital role to arrive to this conclusion. To illustrate this, lets take an example of a software professional, one who attends office while he is sick and a construction labor. There is no surprise that a small discomfort in health can cost the construction labor his life if he is unable to balance his body at the construction site and on contrary maximum what can happen to a software professional is that he may fall asleep on his desk.

Thirdly, the hypothesis that Employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured rests on the reason that its due to the fear of lack of pay during the time of illness The premise for this argument again does not take into consideration some other factors like the role of Employee at work, it might happen that the worker is the key member in his team and the responsibilities over his head pressurize him to come to work even while he is unwell. If the author mentioned in his argument that the employee did not have a vital role in terms of his duties at work and thus no other reason to feel pressured would bolster his argument.

Fourthly, another unconvincing claim I would rather say unreliable claim that the author puts forth is that impair judgement or impaired motor skills are due to illness and illness related medications. I will elucidate this with an example to make it clear why I referred to this data as unreliable. There is a fair possibility that the workers taken in the survey are lying, probably what they are referring to illness related medications are some sort of detrimental, illegal and addictive drugs that they are consuming and going for work, that could be another reason for their impaired judgement and loss of balance at their vehicles.

Hence, to conclude the author has dismissed some of the assumptions as mentioned in the above paragraphs in order to arrive to the conclusion. If the argument was backed up with the sample size taken, the diversity of the sample data and more information on other factors like role of the employee at work mentioned in paragraph 3 etc, his argument would be strong and convincing.