In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Surely, past achievements set an example of the highest contributions in any field and instill inspiration in most people who endeavor to make remarkable contributions. While it provides a benchmark for future contributions and in some cases guides further achievements, stating that significant contributions are impossible without being guided by these past achievements, is a bit too extreme. After all, the first ever achievements in any field have no prior example or influence of the achievements and what makes these contributions possible is the inspiration which results from multiple reasons. Giving some credit to innovation and talent, two of the various factors that make the greatest contributions possible in any field by breaking the norms, do not always result form the impact of past achievements, as they may occur expectedly or serendipitously at any point of time.

The statement links endeavoring remarkable inputs in any field to prior achievements within that field where the assumption is that instead no other factors could allow notable contributions. Taking reference from the introduction, talent and innovative ideas could also develop from empirical experiments. For example, Isaac Newton the greatest scientist of all time who discovered the law of universal gravitation figured out why things fall down and why the planets orbit around the sun. This could be possible because he questioned the existence of reality and with the help of physical experiments and mathematical aptitude he makes this huge contribution without any influence from previous success in the branch of physics.

In contrast to the statement, one may also argue that venturing to achieve the pinnacle especially in the field of creativity is sometimes hindered by having strong impact of past artistic luminaries. As one who is strongly influenced by them often ends up imitating the customary style of work and their thoughts are limited by its conventions. Besides, influence of prior success is not mandatory for an artist to create an unprecedented and extraordinary work of art as artistic skill is something that occurs naturally. For example, Zaha Hadid the first female architect to win the Pritzker Prize Award is celebrated for her de-constructive style of architecture, liberated architectural geometry giving it a new expressive identity. Natural surrounding like vineyards and farm lands inspire her work to design roof that rises up like a wave. Thus, ideas and talent could play more important role than being influenced by prior successes.

Additionally, the above example presents that to pursue contributions such fields where innovation is the key does not require to be influenced by past success, in fact it requires not to be restrained by them. While past achievements could influence some people positively and do wonders, others who think could never achieve that level of success is impeded by the same. Therefore, it is necessary that the influence is interpreted in a positive way in order to endeavor any field.

Past influences might or not help making significant contributions as it depends on the actual field one pursues and innovation makes it may as well. Thus, it is possible to endeavor any field sometimes without being influenced by the past success. However, endeavoring in any field is never limited to the past discoveries, since infinite inventions and limitless contributions could be made in the future that are not even imagined before.