In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions

Any research work requires a person to have a sound knowledge of the basic and fundamental concepts of the field in concern. Having said that, it is not the main factor to be considered while evaluating the contribution of a person to a field of inquiry.

An expert in a field of work is necessarily a person of years of experience, in-depth knowledge and sound understanding of the field. So, it can be said that he has worked in the field for many years, thus exhausting his brain with all the years of thinking and reasoning. Therefore any new advancements and opportunities emerging in the field will be less eagerly looked upon. But, the same newer opportunities will be much more curiously looked at and introspected by the novices which are eager to take in as much knowledge as they can. Thus, bringing in a broader vision and investigation to unravel the complexities in the subject of study. Therefore, the experts are less likely to be able to think up explanations about any new mysteries and phenomenons in the concerned field than the beginners.

A beginner's mind will be like an empty book to fill.By this, it means that he will be in a position to understand and interpret any matter according to his imagination and perception. In any field of work, imagination plays a great role in the unraveling of confounding matters by the power of reasoning.A person who knows not too much about his subject of interest is bound to use imagination and ideas to come up with new solutions and ideas to the unending questions in the field.The best example of this is in the field of science, where critical reasoning is the major aspect of the theories related to cosmic space and the life sciences. And by far it has always been observed that young and developing minds are better at working up ideas and solutions more rapidly in the field of inquiry.

Moreover, experts who have studied in the specific field for a great expanse of time have some of the presumptions based on the time when they started studying as a novice. Some of the theories they assumed at that time may show contradictory implications after many years. In such a case it would be actually difficult for them to accept the new paradigm and transform their old beliefs which they nurtured so long. At such a time the newer learners in this fields would be more advantageous and would be in a state to make new discoveries and perceptions explained as they would not be burdened by any previously held notions.They are after all still on their to be called experts.

Hence, it can be concluded that though experts have played an important role in the field of inquiry for long, they are more significant to guiding the beginners in their contributions to the field than themselves making new and important contributions.After all, the curiosity of a beginner's mind is can bring up much more possibilities and perspectives than the worn out minds of the experts.