The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A government runs on the cumulative efforts of all those officers working for the nation. Still, there can be said to be a single authority of highest significance that has a control over the activities of welfare of the nation. This authority is chosen from among the members of the government's parliament. Young people are encouraged to serve and lead the nation. This encouragment is done both by imparting competition or cooperation in young people.

Cooperation is the key essence of peaceful survival of the people in any nation. With cooperation, an amity is nurtured among the residents of the nation and it helps the government to function efficiently. For example, if the leader of the government is an amicable and a cooperative person he will listen to the opinions of his ministers and do only what is best in the interests of his nation. The ministers and officers will be happy to work for the leader if they are given equal importance indecision making. Young people are energetic and full of innovative ideas which can be put to use for the benefit of the nation. If values of cooperation and sincerity are instilled in them, they would peacefully and efficiently govern the country without enmity with anyone. Sure, there is going to be a competition with someone at every step. But with the skill to handle situations with cooperation rather than argument would surely help young people to be successful leaders.

Moreover, in fields other than government leadership also cooperation will create wonders. In industries or in any other field of life, if a person learns to be cooperative and adjusting then, he will surely succeed. In industries there are many chances of clashes with coworkers or boss himself upon various issues related to work. Instilling cooperation rather than competitive approach in young people would help them to maintain a healthy work environment in the industries and they would treat their coworkers as well as subordinates with due respect. Young minds are very easily influenced. So, if right kind of values and ethics are imbibed at the right time, then the nation or the industries will benefit from these strong workforces comprising of energetic and healthy minded youth.

All this said, competition has also become an important part of life of people. It cannot be denied that competition helps to encourage the young people to be better day by day in order to be at par. If healthy competition is maintained and imparted in the monds of the youth, they will benefit from it by striving hard to be more efficient and even better as a human. For example, in an industry an additional bonus is ensured for the young leader who leads the most efficient team, then the young leaders will be encouraged and inspired to bring out the best out of their team. Thus, competition is also necessary to keep a person moving and improving.

Hence, it can be concluded that neither cooperation nor competition alone can make young leaders successful leaders in any field. But, both these factors contribute equally. Young people who know how to be in health competition with the help of cooperation will easily succeed.