In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As a society, we accept that diversity of ideas is positive for students and organizations. We integrate our schools, require our cities to be accessible to people with disabilities, and take notice when the board of an influential organization does not reflect the demographics of the public. However, that progress requires discussion among people with contrasting points of view in any situation is too broad a statement.

The Supreme Court of the United States is currently has a majority of male judges with conservative views. This does not reflect the more than 300 million people whose lives are affected by their decisions. When they next hear arguments related to women’s reproductive health, there is a possibility that access to reproductive care for women will be directly or indirectly restricted. In this case, a decision will have been made, and the conservative movement would likely tout victory, an argument could be easily made that progress would be absent. Who has the power to define progress is more weighty than discussion in creating it.

In fact, it is possible for discussion to beget stagnation. The position of the scientific community is that climate change is a real and imminent danger. In the United States Congress, progress cannot be made on the issue, because discussion between contrasting points of view inhibits preventative measures from being taken. The basis of argument for those opposed to climate action is often financial stakes posed to organizations or studies with unsound results that contradict the overwhelming majority of existing climate research. These points are often presented in the media as fact and influence the public ideology, further swaying the governing body. Weight should be given to the credibility of a point of view in a discussion. In the case of environmental protection, discussion is an obstacle to progress.

Occasionally, even in congress, people reach consensus. If all affected parties or all present parties agree on an action, is this considered stagnation? When a vote is unanimous, it can still create progress.

Progress is a multifaceted concept and criterion for progress are situational. Relatedly, discussion among people with contrasting points of view is not always a requirement for creating progress.