Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Changing KICK’s programming to mimic that of WCQP may be a reasonable idea, however the argument given by KICK’s station manager is incomplete. In order to make a fully informed decision, the station must consider mitigating factors such as why the offerings of the other station were changed, the similarity of audiences and market capture between the two stations, and the validity of the survey.

While it may be true that WCQP had a positive response to the addition of call-in advice programs, the prior offerings are unknown. Whether this station was primarily sports commentary, classical radio, Christian talk radio or another niche category remains unknown. Additionally, the argument does not address what portion of the potential listeners tuned in before. It is possible that KICK’s current market capture exceeds that of WQCP’s new market capture.

KICK and WCQP are in different towns. What is known about the demographics of each target market? Has any data been collected to confirm whether the potential listeners each station could reach are similar? The demographics of current listeners to KICK should be compared to the current listeners of WCQP and that data should be compared to the general market. If the listenership of WCQP is not reflected in the KICK region, then it may not be wise to make a change.

Surveys can be a useful tool when applied appropriately. The methodology, respondents, and potential biases must be considered to confirm whether its findings are widely applicable. The wording of questions on the survey may lead respondents toward an answer. If the majority of respondents were native English speakers, then the results may not be relevant to regions with large minority or immigrant populations. If the survey was conducted over the internet, then young people might be disproportionately likely to respond; on the contrary, if the survey was conducted via home phone or standard mail, then older populations might be disproportionately likely to respond. The demographics of the respondents should match the demographics of KICK’s target market for the findings to be applicable.

In the event that KICK and WCQP are comparable and the study is applicable to the KICK region, the station could question when a call-in talk show would be most effective and what the current times of need for the station are. If a call-in talk show would only be effective during already popular programming, then the upshot of altered offerings might not be positive for ratings or revenue.

Changing the offerings of a radio station is not a simple decision. The contributing factors will likely vary from station to station. While the two stations may well be similar and the survey may be applicable, it still may not be a wise decision.