Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In the age of information, achieving the rank of hero is a difficult task. Media are perpetually looking for fresh stories to captivate audiences and boost ratings and sales. In this new model of news, a safe story is one that focuses on an already recognizable topic. To paraphrase one Washington Post reporter in the podcast “Post Reports”, if someone asks you a question about your beat that you do not have that answer to, you should look into it.

While the internet has fostered a more closely connected global community, information both positive and negative can reach wider audiences in a shorter period of time. For people who have already reached notoriety, the likelihood of widespread information sharing is greater through the use of tags and searches. This means rising stars with positive reputations could quickly fall from grace within hours of a story.

It is also true, however, that modern-day heroes exist. The late Senator John McCain was widely regarded as a hero for his contributions to American society. His reputation as a war hero and a dedicated public servant lives on. Senator McCain was in the public eye during the age of information and was scrutinized under the recent administration for his disagreements with the White House administration. He was not a perfect man, his flaws were reported on, but they were determined by society to be less significant than his positive attributes.

To err is human; the extent to which an error is weighted is the determining factor of a hero. The significance of an error is cultural or may be mitigated by other factors. What is taboo in one region may be commonplace in another. It may be more difficult to become a modern-day hero, but it is not impossible.