Argument task The following appeared in a petition presented by classen university students to the school s administration The purpose of higher studies is to prepare students for the future but classen students are at a serious disadvantage in the

In order for surviving in the combative and competitive modern world, basic knowledge in a myriads of important aspects is more essential than subjective expertise. The matter presented by the students of the Classen University to the school’s administration complains about the burdensome breadth of the curriculum. They land on the conclusion that: generalized rather than subject-oriented curriculum requirement is the only reason for the substantial decline in the placement rates in Classen University, when juxtaposed with many of the top-ranked schools. The aforementioned assumption does not hold water due to a number of valid reasons.

Firstly, the blame on the course curriculum is an assumption of students without proper detailed understanding of the other factors. It is not mentioned about the methods adapted by students to land on the conclusion, which they mention as the only plausible cause of steep fall in placements. Employers look for potential candidates who not only have subjective expertise, but are also adaptive and willing to take up challenges. In most of the companies, it is a common scenario that employees have to take up roles which are novice and learn new technologies by themselves, as the technology or indeed the world itself is constantly changing. The managers and CEOs of the companies are often employees who started their journey in the technical field and later on moved to managerial field which was not the part of their course curriculum. A terse and focused subjective curriculum will force the individuals to stay in the same field, such that if the field becomes obsolete the individuals will struggle to find a new opportunity.

In addition to the above reasons, a number of other factors regarding the university has to be considered. The overall fame of the university compared to other institutions, the prudence of instructors in the university, infrastructure such as laboratory facilities for establishing practical skills, etc. play integral part in carving the students and attracting the giant companies. The correlation of university with the global leader companies is cardinal.

However, a focused subjective choice of course curriculum will indulge a profound knowledge in students and provide them with more time to be erudite in the field of their interest. But the positive facets of a narrow syllabus do not outshine the adverse aspects of it. As a result of which, rather than drastically cutting back on its breadth requirements, the university has to carefully consider all the other factors which could possibly improve placement rates. A cogent study on the matter is substantial before taking a very important decision like changing the entire curriculum which will have a huge impact.