If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

The statement posited states that among two equally deserving job aspirants, the one with experience in the field has to be provided with the privilege. The validity of the statement is subjective and it relies on the nature of the job, field of expertise needed for the job and other myriad factors. Experience is not the most significant factor when it comes to performing well in a job, it is only one among the many facets that matters. A fresher, straight out of college who has a good academic profile and has tackled the real-world applications can be more enthusiastic and curious about the work. The profound interest and love for something will always result in better outcomes.

Google, which is the dream company of most of the aspiring engineers test how well the interview applicants perform in hypothetical scenarios. It is equally or even more importantly considered as a significant factor than technical knowledge. When it comes to real-world applications, the adaptability and alacrity play vital role than the theoretical knowledge. I have personally experienced situations in which, my colleagues who are new to the field with no industrial experience, tackled the hardest of problems where even the technical architecture failed to provide a solution. Considering the example of the most significant profession of teaching, a good teacher is not often the one with the greatest experience. Sometimes, some students can spread their wisdom in a much enchanting way than a teacher. It is the inbuilt quality and talent of an individual.

However, the one without experience might indeed be taciturn paradoxically loquacious because of the lack of exposure to the job culture, but all they need is little polishing. People who have expertise in a field can work efficiently in the beginning as they are acquainted with the methods. But considering the long run, an individual who has equal qualification as the experienced professional in all aspects will do much better in 2 years than the later.