Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo taken from the advertising director of the super screen movie production company it is concluded that Super screen should allocate a greater share of its budget for next year to reaching the public through advertising. However, before the budget allocation can be done the following three questions must be answered.

Firstly, How positive are the review? It is possible that the reviews are not positive at all and are tepid at best. It might be the case that the reviews are barely positive and are just on the boundary of being average. Further, How were these reviews collected? It might be the case that the reviews were collected from a non representative set of the audience or from a relatively less influential reviewer. Also it is possible that these positive reviews were fabricated by the marketing department of superscreen to attract more audience or calm the apprehensions of the stakeholders which would've potentially quit investing considering the drop in reviews a well as the number of people showing up in the superscreen's. If either of the above holds water, the conclusion drawn by the author would be dramatically weakened.

Secondly, Does the percentage of positive reviews reflect the quality of the movies? It is possible that perhaps this percentage dosen't show the whole picture. It might be possible that this percentage has increased ever so slightly that it is insignificant in the overall picture, Also considering the fact that the number of people attending the screening have reduced, this change in percentage of positive reviews holds even less weight. The author needs to provide more data on the percentage change and the number of people attending the movies over the years, otherwise the vague wording of his statements will dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of his arguement.

Finally, will more advertising and public awareness actually solve the problem? It is possible that people have found better or more convienient options and won't come back to superscreens no matter what. For instance, is it possible that people have started to prefer watching movies at the convienience of their own homes by subscribing to online streaming services like amazon prime or netflix. It is also possible that super screen movie theaters are located at the edge of the town or in isolated locations which people don't feel safe or don't have the time to commute. If the above examples holds water the conclusion of the author is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, The arguement as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to provide specific evidences, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study to answer the above questions and substantiate his claim of increasing the advertising budget