"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

In the letter to the editorial, the author suggests in reducing renting of mopeds to tourists in Balmer island because of increase in accidents. The author comes to this conclusion from the information acquired from Seaville’s town council. However, the author made unwarranted assumptions which are discussed below.

First of all, the prompt suggests that mopeds are popular and primary source of transport in Balmer island. Therefore, by reducing the number of mopeds there is a possibility of decrease in tourism and which might directly affect its economy. Even if, the usage of mopeds is limited, the author fails to suggest an alternate mode of transportation which doesn’t affect the tourism. Also, the alternate mode of transportation should be able to gain the popularity of the mopeds.

Secondly, the prompt suggests that the rental companies in reducing the renting of mopeds from 50 to 25 per day thereby reducing the total number of accidents. The author makes unwarranted assumptions by implying that limiting the usage of mopeds will likely limit the accidents occurring. The author fails to consider the possibility of accidents might be due to irresponsible drivers or due to lack of prior knowledge about the island’s traffic rules. If the above assumptions are considered, the argument doesn’t hold water.

Thirdly, the author implies that Seaville’s limit on the moped rentals has been successful so it is likely that Balmer island limit on the rentals will be also successful. The question arises are Seaville’s tourism and Balmer island’s tourism comparable.?. Seaville’s tourists might be in lesser number when compared to Balmer island. The limit on mopeds information is also acquired from the previous year but as the prompt suggests there is a population increase, so it might be a wise decision to mimic Seaville’s decision. If the above assumptions are true, the conclusions drawn from the argument are significantly weakened.

In conclusion, as argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions and offer evidence then it will possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation.