The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In his letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette, the writer tries to prove his plan to decrease the accidents during the summer by limiting the number of mopeds rented.According to me, the writer would need to be answerable to many questions to claim that his recommendation is valid.

Firstly, he mentioned that the mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation but he did not mention any alternative transport facility to the visitors.Is there any possibility of other means?Will the visitors be able to reach the destination during the burning summer days.

Moreover, he mentioned that the population ranges to 10000 during summer days.So will all the people be able to find a moped? By reducing the number of rentals from 50 percent to 25 percent there may be chances of trouble to the population.There might the situation that the people turn down to visit the Balmer Islands again due to lack of transportation facilities.

In addition to the above facts, there is no strong evidence provided that the accidents are increased only due to increased number of mopeds.The writer neither mentioned the influence of climatic conditions nor about the island.He did not provide any information about the population, their issues or reasons behind accidents.

Furthermore ,he took the example about the Seaville’s town Council enforcement but neither mentioned the reason they enforced the limitation.IS there any common reason for the accidents ?The Population of Seaville is not mentioned.Is there any other means of transportation?

I believe that a more evidences is to be provided by the writer and he needs to answer the questions in order to accept his recommendation.A proper study is needed before recommending.