The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The issue is related to the memorandum from the business manager of a television station.Dealing depth with the memorandum, it claims that the argument is true at the first glance but there are many other possibilities to consider while discussing the late-night news program.

Firstly, the manager mentioned that he received the complaints from the viewers who were concerned about the weather forecast and local news.But he did not provide any evidence that the people complained only against the late-night news program.There may be chances that the television station neglected the weather and local news during the morning hours.There is no proof that highlights the decrease of viewers of the late-night news program or any information that the people are not interested in national news.The manager did not provide any statement against the national news.So there is a possibility that the viewers are interested in national news.

Secondly , he mentioned that the local businesses have canceled the advertising contract with them.This contract cannot be correlated to the late-night news program only.There are chances that the local businesses are being closed down or their products are not really interested by the people.It might be the situation that the television station is not bothering about the advertising contract or fulfilling the deals of the contract.There is no strong evidence given that they cancelled the contract considering only one program.He did not mention any other facts related to the advertisements timings or any other related proof.

In addition to the above argument, there is no guarantee that the late-night news program will gain its viewers as before.There is a possibility that people are not opting to watch news during late nights.The manager mentioned that there might be a possibility to attract more viewers but did not suggest that there is decrease in the viewers. He cannot relate a one or two hours news program with the overall complaints of the people.So,I suggest the television station manager to cover the local news and weather related statistics twice or thrice a day.