To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A public official is an important individual as it is his duty to come up with solutions to the problems raised by the public. The prompt recommends that in order for a bureaucrat to be efficacious, they must adhere to the pinnacle of moral principles and ethicality. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and believe that righteousness is linked with efficiency for two reasons.

Firstly, a public official officer must maintain a positive image in public as having a negative one could affect his ability of being an effective leader. For example, when a politician’s career is filled with controversies and flaws, it leads to his team wasting their time on finding excuses and trying to justify his behaviour. As a result, they aren’t able to devote their time to issues that are actually of utmost importance which leads to the politician’s success being compromised. Moreover, if one’s behaviour is unethical, it will most probably evoke a negative response from the public which would not only harm the individual’s reputation but also the party they represent as their value would decrease.

Finally, if a public official lacks ethical and moral qualities, he loses the ability to be transparent with the public. As a result, it might be difficult for him to inspire people because their respect for him would most likely have diminished. Furthermore, not having a good reputation with the public would drastically hinder the chances of a leader to form any kind of association with the public. They would not want to vote for someone who has a bad image as it would harm their own reputation. In other words, no matter how powerful an individual is, if his character is stained, it would definitely reduce his efficiency.

Of course, some may argue that there are other factors that can contribute to the efficiency of an individual and not just their adherence to moral principles. However, I believe that political leaders need to be ethical in order to set a good example for the people who have put their trust in them as this would not only ensure efficiency but also minimize the rate of corruption in the country.