The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

We are all surrounded by commonplace things. Its the ignorance in ourselves that stops us from deriving a wonderful idea out of them. I completely agree with the claim because of the following reasons and illustrations.

It was around 16th century A.D. a man sitting calmly under an apple tree was looking at sky just relaxing. Suddenly an apple falls over his head and what next is all history. Everyone at that time knew thigs are supposed to fall down but noone wondered why until Sir Issac Newton discovered the concept of gravity. There are numerous such inventions and discoveries that we see yet there are only a few who can see ideas in them. Consider for example the invention of safety pin, or a paper clip. So mundane these might have sounded at that time, but today they have widespread applications

Further, some might argue that there are many such ideas, that are arcane for a layman and do not fit under the definition of "commonplace". Yes this notion is true, but for the ones who devised the idea, it could be a banal subject for them. Consider the example of theory of relativity. Indeed it is a recondite concept for many, yet for the likes of Einstein and Maxwell, the paragons in the name of electro-magnetism, it was completely a common thing.

As mentioned, earlier, it is the fog of ignorance that we need to clear, even a common man could see brilliant ideas around him. It is said that necessity is the mother of invention. Trapped in a precarious situation, even we can derive something from things around us. Take for example the cave man, who were not as advanced as the homo sapiens today, yet they invented fire and the wheel to facillitate their requirements and needs. Its the perspctive and creative one needs to adopt and simply mundane things can do magic for you.

To conclude, it can be clearly observed from the mentioned illustrations that even the most quotodian things can be a source of brilliant ideas.