The best ideas arise from a passionate

interest in commonplace things.

Some believe that the best ideas arise from interest in very complex subjects. However, the majority of significant inventions and discoveries have arisen from passionate interest in the commonplace things. This is true because passion is required for overcoming obstacles on the journey to discovery, commonplace items frequently spark creativity, and commonplace items help simplify complex concepts.

First, passion is essential for overcoming obstacles that one encounters during the process of innovation. When inventing and innovating, one often has struggles and obstacles. For example, when Edison invented the light bulb, he had many failed attempts, but his passion for his work helped him overcome the failures and complete his goal. Thus, passionate interest in one’s work is essential for the generation and execution of the best ideas.

Furthermore, commonplace items frequently spark the creativity necessary for brilliant ideas. Commonplace items can provide opportunities for improvement, such as the many improvements that have occurred in the technology used for telephones. Telephones have undergone several rounds of innovation, from their invention, to the mobile phone, and now to the smartphone. The telephone has undergone so many phases of innovation because it is a common item used by many people. Therefore, commonplace items often provide sources for innovation and creativity which can be utilized to create brilliant ideas.

Finally, commonplace items often help people simplify complex concepts. By observing commonplace items such as ones of passionate interest, more complex concepts can be more easily understood. For instance, many scientists gain inspiration for theories from commonplace items. An example of this is when attempting to find a solution to detecting surrounding objects without visuals, looking at how a more commonplace concept like echolocation inspired technology such as sonar to solve this complex issue. Thus, commonplace items can assist in the simplification of complex concepts .

While those who believe that the best ideas arise from interest in complex subjects may have some valid arguments such as complex concepts often having high impacts on society, overall, passionate interest in commonplace things has a more significant effect on the development of innovative ideas. Passionate interest in common items gives rise to the best ideas because passion is required to motivate the innovator during the process of discovery. Additionally, commonplace items help spark creativity and provide inspiration for the simplification of complex concepts.