“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.” Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with therecommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing andsupporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting therecommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these exa mples shape your position.

A national curriculum that all students follow should be seriously considered by every nation. A national curriculum would standardize the material being taught, thus giving every student the potential to be at the same level upon entering college. It would also simplify the role of teachers. This means that they would be able to focus less time on what they should teach, and instead focus on how best they should teach the standard material. However the national curriculum should only dictate what is being taught, not how it being taught. Since every classroom is different, this leaves the teacher with options so that they may best teach the material.

Currently, in the United States, students attending the same college can come from locations thousands of miles apart. This means that their previous knowledge can differ greatly based on where they completed their secondary education. Different areas of the county teach different material based on influences of the area. For instance, a school in the north-east may study literature from Europe, whereas a school in the south may study more literature from South America. Previous knowledge being very different, this will lead to great differences in opportunities for students in the same course in college. It also makes college admissions more fair because everybody has the same base level of knowledge. Therefore a national curriculum would provide equality of education for all.

Currently teaches often have to decide what material they are teaching, especially in the humanities. Material in the sciences is rather set in stone, however there are many options to choose from for teaching humanities. Having a national curriculum would free up time in teachers' busy schedules so that they may invest more time and preperation into their lessons, thus leading to more effective learning for students.

For these circumstances, adapting a national curriculum would be advantageous. However, there exist great gaps in the socio-economic classes of the United States, meaning that a national curriculum could be too advanced for some students, or too simple for others since it is a one size fit all solution. This is the main reason that a national curriculum would not be advantageous. In these edge cases though, I believe special programs could be made to assist those in need.

Nevertheless, in my opinion, a national curriculum woud be beneficial to students before entering college. It would provide them with the same base of knowledge from which they can the branch out from in higher education. It would also allow teachers to devote more of their time to creating lesson plans that teach the material well, along with perhaps catering to those that are further ahead or behind the rest of the student population.