The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the compl aintsreceived from viewers w ere concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to theprogram and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.” Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In order to evaluate the argument presented in the memorandum, several pieces of information are needed. Firstly, one needs to evaluate the importance of national news compared to that of local news and weather. Another piece of evidence required is simply the number of complaints recieved regarding the lack of weather and local news coverage. Similarly, data is required on the amount of sponsorship already lost and also what remaining sponsorship could be lost in the future. Therefore before any decision is made, these pieces of evidence should be evaluated against the buisness manager's argument.

One way of evaulating the importance of national news compared to the weather and local news could simply be a survey of viewers. This would give the station a better idea of what areas to concentrate more air-time on. Surveys could even be done throughout the year as preferences may change based on the season or surrounding major current events like local and national elections. Based on how viewers respond to the survey at the time, the buisness manager's argument could be either strengthened or weakened.

Another piece of evidence that would be useful is the number of complaints about the increased air-time of national news. As the buisness manager says, most complaints may have been regarding the lack of local news and weather, however if this number of complaints is relatively low compared to the total estimated viewing audience then this would weaken the argument since only a few complaints can not overrule the silent majority.

About the question of local buisness sponsorships, data is required regarding the number of contracts cancelled, and the dollar amount of sponsorship lost. The same data is also required for the buisnesses still honoring their contracts. If only a few buisnesses have cancelled their contracts and the dollar amount of their sponsorships was relatively little, it may be more condusive to leave them be and instead pursue advertisers that are more interested in the station airing national news topics. This would weaken the manager's argument. On the other hand, if a significant amount of sponsorship was lost, this would strengthen the manager's argument. However either way it would be beneficial to gauge the interest of advertisers for whom national news is more appealing since this should also influence the decision of what news should be aired.

Therefore, in order to evaluate the manager's argument and make a decision, a few pieces of evidence are required. A survey of active viewers would tell the station what the audience really wants to see. An analysis of the complaints recieved would also indicate if the number of complaints recieved is actually significant enough to take into account. Finally, an analysis of the advertisement situation would signal whether the sponsorship lost is significant enough to justify airing more local news and weather. Another helpful peice of information in this area would be the interest of advertisers who are more interested in stations that air national news. All these pieces of evidence are required to assertain the validity of the argument made by the manager.