A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

While a national curriculum for students before they enter college may be considered as an opportunity to give all students a level playing field, a national curriculum would take away student’s opportunities to individualized their education and find their passion, cater to only a select group of students, and be unsuitable for some schools. Therefore, a national curriculum would not benefit the nation’s education system.

Firstly, students need the opportunity to individualized their education. Individualization of a student's education helps keep students engaged in school and helps them discover their passion. One of the major challenges in schools today is keeping students engaged. Forcing students into a one size fits all curriculum for the entirety of their pre-college education will cause many students to lose interest in school because they are not interested in the mandated classes. For example, the time I was most engaged in school before college were my last two years in high school. I discovered that I loved science, and I was able to customize my curriculum to take three science classes both years. This personalization of my education helped keep me engaged and find my passion for biochemistry. In addition, a national curriculum may cause more students to drop out and fewer students to go to college because of the increased lack of interest in education or many students not finding their passion through exploring self-selected courses. Keeping students engaged and assisting students in finding their passion are key goals of the education system that would be harmed by adopting a national curriculum.

Additionally, a national curriculum may not suit all schools. Schools in less educated regions may need to spend more time focusing on the basics of education than more educated regions. Schools in inner cities or in poor rural regions like the corridor of shame in South Carolina need to spend more time on the basics because many parents do not have the time or knowledge to educate their kids as strongly as people in other regions do. Also, schools should have the option to teach job skills and history relevant to the region. For example, agricultural education is important in schools in small rural towns but is not relevant in major cities. A national curriculum would not allow the adaptations of time frames and the additions of subjects to maximally benefit the students of specific communities.

On the other hand, some might argue that a national curriculum puts children on a more even playing field. While at first glance this may seem true, further examination indicates that this one size fits all model may make the playing field more uneven. By nurturing the education of a classic well-rounded student, like those who enjoy English, history, math, and science, it makes the playing field less even. Students who want technical training, are interested in the arts, or are only interested a specific subject would not receive education as well suited for their interests and goals. Thus, a national curriculum would make the playing field more uneven by only catering to a few types of students.

In conclusion, a national curriculum in schools until college takes away the student's ability to individualized their education which increases a lack of interest in school and prevents students from finding their passion. It would also would prevent schools from teaching skills and history more relevant to their region. Lastly, a national curriculum would promote traditional well-rounded students while ignoring those interested in technical trades, the arts, or one specific subject. Therefore, the government should not implement a national curriculum.