The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compellingreasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Cooperation in government, industry, and other fields is critical to the function of those entities. Young people should be shown that cooperation is the key to success, at least within entities. But they must also be taught that they should be able to be competitive when necessary. The only exception to this is of course to stay within moral and ethic limits.

In industry, otherwise known as the private sector, cooperation is critical for companies to succeed. That is, the members of a private sector company should all cooperate together to make that company better, however they should still have a competitive mindset towards other private sector companies that are their rivals. This does not mean that rival companies can not jointly develop a product, but in reality they are only cooperating because it will achieve a better outcome for themselves. In the end, young people in industry need to be taught that they would strive with their co-workers to improve their company, while also competitively taking advatage of situations that present themselves, within moral and ethical grounds.

In government, cooperation should be used to improve how the nation is run. Politicians and the government should also cooperate with the citizenry since they are in a symbiotic relationship. Cooperation between governments of the same level, such as city-city, state-state, and nation-nation, should be used to the best of everyone's ability to improve life in those areas. However if competition is what is necessary to obtain something, like for example the contract for a company to build a factory in one state over the other, then competition should be encouraged. This is the whole premise of the free-market system.

This position of vying for cooperation when able, but resorting to competition when necessary should be a golden rule. The one and only exception should be on moral and ethical grounds. For instance, if competition is driving one company to produce products that are not sufficiently safe in order to increase profits, then the avenue that the company is persuing should be reevaluated.

In summary, today's young people should be instilled with drive to cooperate with one another. However in today's world, only cooperating will lead to one being taken advatage of and left behind. Therfore, I say competition is also necessary when it would be benificial to government, industry, or research. The balance of cooperation and competition will lead to the best generation of leaders.