“Both the development of technological tools and the uses to which humanity has put them have

created modern civilizations in which loneliness is ever increasing.”

Like many tools, the product of technology depends on the user. Some say that our technology has increased loneliness in today’s society, but some say that our technology has increased community in today’s society. In reality, the outcome of this technology depends on the personality and intent of the user.

On one hand, many developed technologies have enabled people to avoid socializing. For instance, email is commonly used in business settings over conversations. Also, many people now shop online and can even buy groceries now without leaving their homes. Antisocial or introverted people may use technologies like these to avoid socializing which may increase their loneliness.

However, there are many platforms that can be used to connect people and create communities across the world. Social medias like Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat can be used to remain in contact with friends across the world, thus, decreasing loneliness. Currently, online communities are also important for many people. With the many online social spaces in video games or entertainment apps like Tumblr and iFunny, people can experience social connections with people they have never met. Through these communities, the user may meet individuals that they befriend, or they may have decreased loneliness due to the general support of the community.

In reality, both sides of the spectrum, loneliness and socializing, have increased because technology provides the user with the tools to avoid or embrace society. The decision of how the individual uses the technology depends on their characteristics because the technology of today provides them the tools to more fully express this personality than in the past.

Technology is what you make it. It can be used to increase one’s distance from society, making one lonelier. Or it can be used to connect individuals, decreasing one’s loneliness. The impact of technology on modern society depends on the intent and characteristics of the user. In modern civilizations, more extreme cases of loneliness and socializing are seen because technology amplifies the user’s personality.