The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

An argument is the statement that can be argued with others, and I mostly agree that convincing someone with an opposing viewpoint is suitable for verify an argument. However, in certain circumstances, there is no need to convince with others for argument verification.

Admittedly, we can clarify an argument through discussion with people who hold opposite opinions. Furthermore, people tend to provide evidences and experiment results to persuade others. For instance, all of the president candidates would debate in public during the election season in Taiwan. Most of the time, the voters tend to be neutral because they may feel confused about the policies proposed by those candidates. However, the voters can have better understanding about those politic statements when candidates argue with each other from the different perspectives in public or TV live show. Thus, an valid argument can convince someone with opposing viewpoints.

On the other hand, there still remain some arguments do not need to convince someone through opposing viewpoint. In other words, some concepts can be totally believe from others without providing supporting details, for example religion. To be frankly, people find their religious believes based on the spiritual experience during worship. They visit temples or churches periodically to calm their complex mind and thoughts. It is religion which make them believe in themselves and share happiness with others. In addition, it in not necessary to provide any facts and opposing viewpoints to convince their belief in god. In these circumstances, the concepts of a belief would not need any opposing viewpoint to strengthen the position of the argument.

In conclusion, based on the discussion above mentioned, I agree that an valid argument in most of the cases, like policy, can convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. However, my position excludes the argument in all of the religions because people can accept the concept of spirit without verifying it.