Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A Chinese old saying states that history enables us to learn from the past, and predicts for the future, which indicates the importance of understanding history. However, the claim suggests that understanding about history cannot help people make decisions today, because there is some distance from past to now. I mostly disagree with the claim due to the following reasons.

First, people have learned from history in the field of politic and international relationship. To be specific, the world where we live now advocates the importance of peace between countries. In the past decades, it was easily to issue international war. Perhaps that a country wants to showoff its own excellence of developing weapons, or maybe one country envy other's natural resource. However, wars do hurt people and environment. For example, the starving children did not go to school, instead they wandered in the field to search for their next meal. Or the widows expected family gathering, however, she cried every night since she lost her husband and sons during the war. History proved that the war is harmful to human being. Thus, governments in every country tend to communicate with others rather than abuse the violence.

Admittedly, the situation from past to now should be different, people should not make all of the decisions based on history. Take an historical event from ancient China as example. Once upon the time, there was a huge mountain block the traffic between villages. The locals had to climb on the mountain for a day for accessing the neighbor village. And one day, an innocent man decided to remove the mountain by digging its soil daily. Hence, he asked all of the neighbors to participate the mountain digging routine. In the end, the mountain became a ground, then transportation issue was perfectly solved. However, we are now in the world full of automotive tools, this kind of history is not suitable for us. In other words, it depends on different circumstances to decide whether we should learn from historic event.

In conclusion, I disagree that the history is useless for decision making since the knowledge from the ancient deserves us to reference. And people need to judge whether it is suitable for duplicating the same action from the past before making decisions.