The best way for a society to prepare its young people for

leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by

instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

While competition can contribute to building successful leaders in government, industry, and other fields, it is through cooperation that we can prepare young people the best. It is through cooperation that people are able to build the relationships that they need to be successful leaders, as well as allowing them to have the teamwork skills needed to be successful.

Many leaders in industry have used their cooperation skills to get to where they are. These are the skills that involve caring for other people and making sure that they are getting what they need in the relationship. This is the foundation with which many companies leaders have gained their prominence in their company. One such example is Warren Buffett. While he is incredibly good at what he does, it is through the way that he is able to work with others that has helped to lead him to success at Berkshire Hathaway. He understands that he needs to trust his partners as well as trusting the boards of the companies that he invests in. He does not assume he is able to run any given business better than their existing leadership, allowing them to not be fearful. His cooperation skills are crucial to his success in industry.

The necessity for cooperation is also shown through the prominence of teamwork skills in successful people. Teamwork is a common thread when looking at the Presidents of the United States. Many of them played sports growing up, which taught them how to work with others for the common good. One such example is Gerald Ford, who famously played collegiate football at the University of Michigan. Playing the offensive line specifically taught him how to work with four other people to achieve the goal of protecting the ball carrier. Without these skills he would not have been able to work with his cabinet as President. Cooperation is what allows people to work together to be the best that they can be.

While instilling some competitive nature in the young people can be helpful, it is cooperation that is the most important. Focusing more on competitiveness will cause the young people to try and achieve everything on their own. It is through cooperation that they will be able to learn how to work together to leverage their skills in an optimal way. Instilling cooperation at a young age will teach them how to be leaders in their future.