The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the director of student housing at Buckingham College makes a compelling argument regarding increasing the number of new dormitories, there is still necessary information that is needed in order to evaluate this argument. These are things such as what else could be done with the money, is it realistic to expect the current trends to continue, and what their students' priorities are in choosing a school. These can all strengthen or weaken the argument based on what the information tells us.

To fully evaluate the argument, we must not what the alternatives are to using the money to increase the number of dorms. There could very well be other investments that would be much better fits at the given time. For example there could be a way to invest the money to receive a large return and possibly be able to build better dorms in five to ten years. There might also be another investment that would make the school even more attractive to prospective students, and make them willing to pay more for the off-campus housing. These are all things that would greatly weaken the argument. However there might not be any other good alternatives. This could be the most attractive option for the money, setting the college up for success for the next 50 years. If this is the case then the argument becomes significantly stronger. Understanding what the alternatives to the investment are is crucial to evaluating this argument.

Another piece of information that is critical to properly evaluating this argument is if the current trends are expected to continue. It is always difficult to project out 50 years, so a detailed analysis of whether or not the trends are likely to continue is necessary. Depending on what this analysis reports will heavily dictate the strength of the argument. Since the argument is predicated on the doubling in housing over the next 50 years, if this were not the case it would be quite damaging to the argument. On the other hand if the trends are found to be likely to continue it makes the argument far more appealing. It would show that the new housing would be a necessity for the expected influx in students over the next half century.

Lastly understanding the students' priorities is extremely important to evaluating this argument. Many students care about things such as the academic prestige of a university, the social atmosphere, or even the athletics. If these things are found to be more important to the students that Buckingham College attracts than the dorms, then the argument is extremely flawed. This investment would not make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham, as the argument states. However, if it is found that the dorms are of the utmost importance to the students, then this argument is much stronger. The students would be far more likely to enroll if their top priorities are met at Buckingham.

In summation, to properly evaluate this argument the alternatives, growth rates of students, and the students priorities must be known. All of these pieces of information can either strengthen or weaken the argument based on the evidence presented earlier.